Portion Control with….Lemon Chicken, Broccoli Pasta with Marscapone Sauce

I used to be a huge pasta eater.  When I say huge I mean I would help myself to three servings at a time because I love my portions!  However, over the years I have learned to curb my portions a couple of ways.  First, I really just stopped cooking pasta for quite a while…less temptation.  Second, I have shifted what was on my plate.  I now will put twice the veggies and 1/2 the pasta so when it is time to sit down and eat and I am filling up on the fiber filled vegetables than the sugar & starch from the pasta.

All you really need is a taste and you are good to go!  You can do this with any meal, especially if you have kids & a spouse that want their carbs for dinner. YOU have a choice how your food is plated.  Always go with the extra veggies, protein than carbs in portion amounts.  What is this leading to?

I have had some mascarpone cheese in the fridge and have been trying to figure out what I would make with it that is savory and not outrageously fattening and of course QUICK.  So I have decided to make Lemon Chicken with Broccoli in a Mascarpone Sauce.  Sounds decadent, right?

For this recipe I found a few similar ones online, but nothing that jumped out at me.  I got the gist of what the main ingredients should be and I have put my own twist on it.  I will have extra veggies, lemon, less cheese and no added salt.   If you do not have masarpone cheese feel free to substitute with ricotta….it is just a little less smooth and sweet.

Start by marinating the chicken with olive oil, lemon juice, cumin and crushed red pepper.  I just threw mine in a Ziploc bag.  While this is marinating, start to boil some salted water for the pasta. (I am actually using two different kinds…because I was low on both of them and I wanted to be done with them!)

Cook the pasta al dente.  It will continue to cook when mixed with the sauce.  At the last few minutes of cooking, throw in the broccoli and brussels sprouts (I just had some on hand and the more veggies the better).  Drain and reserve about 1/2 cup of the pasta water.  Set aside pasta.

Heat sauce pan with a titch of olive oil.  Pan fry the chicken with all of the marinade.  Wait until brown on one side then flip.  Once cooked through, remove from pan.

Using the same pan with drippings, add in the mascarpone, cream, basil, garlic and lemon & zest.  Stir until creamy.

Slowly add in the pasta and veggies and chicken.  Stir on low heat until coated.  If too thick, add a little of the reserved pasta water.  Sprinkle with fresh Parmesan and pistachios.

Now notice how the majority of the plate is vegetables & protein.  You can still enjoy the pasta without going overboard.

I do highly recommend some extra cardio & pushups in your workout if it is a pasta day!  Mangia!

Lemon Chicken with Broccoli & Mascarpone Pasta:

  • 1/2 pound pasta of choice (reserve 1/2 cup of water for sauce)
  • 1/2 pound chicken breasts (cut into tenders size)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1 cube basil (or tbsp fresh)
  • 1 lemon (1/2 juice for chicken/ 1/2 juice & zest for sauce)
  • 1 pound pasta of choice
  • 2 cups broccoli
  • 1 cup brussels sprouts (optional)
  • 1/4 cup fresh grated parmesan
  • 1/2 cup mascarpone cheese
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cube garlic or 2 cloves minced
  • 1 Tbsp heavy cream
  • 2 Tbsp chopped pistachios (to sprinkle on top)
  1. 1.  Start by marinating the chicken with olive oil, lemon juice, cumin and crushed red pepper.  I just threw mine in a Ziploc bag.  While this is marinating, start to boil some salted water for the pasta.
  2. 2.  Cook the pasta al dente.  It will continue to later cook when mixed with the sauce.  At the last few minutes of cooking, throw in the broccoli and brussels sprouts.  Drain and reserve about 1/2 cup of the pasta water.  Set aside pasta.
  3. 3.  Heat sauce pan with a titch of olive oil.  Pan fry the chicken with all of the marinade.  Wait until brown on one side then flip.  Once cooked through, remove from pan.
  4. 4.  Using the same pan with drippings, add in the mascarpone, cream, basil, garlic and 1/2 lemon juice & zest.  Stir until creamy.
  5. 5.  Slowly add in the pasta and veggies and chicken.  Stir on low heat until coated.  If too thick, add a little of the reserved pasta water.  Sprinkle with fresh Parmesan and pistachios.

One thought on “Portion Control with….Lemon Chicken, Broccoli Pasta with Marscapone Sauce

  1. This recipe looks WONderful! The only problem is nobody in my family would eat this except me! Maybe I’ll half the recipe and make it for myself!! I love your blog — keep on writing!

Leave a comment