Split Pea & Ham Soup after a Fall Bike Ride

There has been an early pattern starting with crisp fall mornings here in Minnesota.  A little sooner than I care for as it seems winter comes much quicker thereafter.

So as I left church this morning I went straight to the grocery store to buy ingredients for Split Pea & Ham Soup.  Growing up I was not that adventurous with vegetables (especially peas).  My mother and sister seemed to like everything out of a can…hot or cold!  Gag me!(if you saw the expression on my face right now you would see I still feel the same way) But I do love me some Split Pea & Ham Soup.  As a kid it was Campbell’s out of the can and I would eat the whole thing.

One of my most vivid memories of knowing I wanted cooking to be a part of my life (I should have listened to those voices then instead of getting an Accounting degree) was when at 10 years old I would cook 5 course meals for my mom and my sister after school.  The first course was Campbell’s Split Pea & Ham.

I am glad to say that my cooking skills have broadened and I know only make it from scratch.

Do you have a favorite childhood soup?

Here is a recipe that I have adapted straight from the bag of dried peas from the store….this soup is a great way to get the extra fiber for your diet too.

Rinse the peas in a colander, set aside.

In a stock pan, heat olive oil on medium heat and add butter, garlic, black pepper & onions.

Heat until onions are transparent.


Add thyme, crushed red pepper, cumin & carrots.  Saute for a few minutes.

Add chicken stock or water, ham and peas.  Bring to a low boil, then simmer for 1-2 hours or until the peas a fully cooked.

While the soup was simmering, my son and I went for a 6 mile bike ride all starting at the trail next to our house.  The air was crisp, kids were playing soccer on the field and we had some great conversations that can only be had away from the distractions at home.  To top it off, my soup would be done by the time we got back!  What could be better.

Remember, take the time to enjoy the small things in life outside….before winter comes rolling in…..

Split Pea & Ham Soup:

  • 1 lb dried split peas
  • 1/2 large sweet onion diced
  • 1 cup diced carrots (I left mine big and chunky)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T butter
  • 2 cubes garlic (2 minced cloves)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp cumin (almost used in every recipe for me)
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1-2 quarts chicken stock or water (you control the sodium & thickness this way)
  • 1/2 lb. of diced ham (you can use ham hocks…but I used boneless ham)
  • optional – homemade croutons & a dollop of greek yogurt for extra protein.
  • I made croutons from some rye bread that we had leftover.  Just bake in the oven for about 5-7 minutes with a little olive oil, thyme and salt and pepper on it.

3 thoughts on “Split Pea & Ham Soup after a Fall Bike Ride

  1. Amy!! I love your “blog site” So fun to read. Gonna have to get cooking! Love how you break down the recipe and give pictures! awesome! I showed your website to Kimmy while we chatted late into the night last night. She is a foodie too! Keep on blog’in.

  2. Inspired! My Gram made great split pea soup but unfortunately, when she passed away in 1999, her recipe for it (like many others) died with her. )-: Wish I was wiser back then and would have taken the time to sit with her and write them all down. I’m going to give yours a whirl. The Campbell’s version has been my goto but now, maybe I can make Gram proud. Thanks Amy!

Leave a comment