warrior one and some asian lettuce wraps

This weekend was not a normal weekend of work and sports for us and it let me do some things that I never take the time to do.  One of these things is yoga.  The last time I did yoga was April 1st to be exact!  Yoga is a very intentional workout for me as my body gives me quite the challenge when it comes to stretching and the mental portion of this gives me a run for my money.  With my calendar cleared from work and sports, I was ready to meet that mental challenge.

I arrived at the gym 20 minutes early knowing that the yoga class would be empty.  So I rolled out my mat and with my kindle in hands I sat in child’s pose and read for a tranquil 20 minutes.  Some of the members at the gym peaked in wondering what in the world is that lady doing just reading in the room?  Well, I was getting my zen on!  When was the last time you intentionally showed up early for a workout and relaxed and read….I highly recommend it.

Soon enough people started to show up for the fitness yoga class.  I could tell they were regulars as they all greeted each other.  Instead of thinking how nice that they have all gotten to know each other…I was completely annoyed that my reading time was being disrupted…..they were ruining my mojo.

Finally, the instructor came in, the room darkened and the music started.  Within an hour I was relaxed, stretched and ready to start my calendar free day.

Yoga is a crucial part of a workout routine and I highly recommend you incorporate at least once a week in your schedule. There are many ways you can start:

Later on in the evening to go along with my western hemisphere theme I whipped up one of my top 5 quick & healthy meals of Asian Lettuce Wraps or for my not so healthy family I call them “Asian Tacos”.  Let’s face it with the last name Rodriguez put anything in a tortilla and my family is sold.

This is a recipe that can be changed very easily.  Mix up the veggies or add some toppings….there are no rules when you are cooking….remember it is art!

Start by heating pan with sesame oil.  Throw in some fresh cilantro and garlic (or the handy frozen cubes I told you about) fresh ginger and the Sambal Oelek sauce.  Let them saute for a minute then add the turkey (please try to keep this lean!).

After turkey is thoroughly cooked, add some honey and….wait for it…..Liquid Bragg’s Aminos. 

I love this stuff.  It is the answer to my sodium fix prayers.  It tastes just like soy sauce, but there is very little sodium in it and it is gluten and MSG free.  One of my staples in my fridge.

Add the veggies of choice and let simmer.

Serve in some leaves of lettuce (Boston Bib is usually the best) and sprinkle with some chopped nuts of choice.  As for the rest of my family they put the filling in tortillas and all was good.

Quick, easy & healthy….they taste even better the next day too.  Stir in with some noodles or rice and it is now a side dish.

Asian Lettuce Wraps:

  • 1 lb ground extra lean turkey (or diced chicken breast)
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro or two frozen cubes of Trader Joe’s
  • 1 tsp fresh garlic or one cube….
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger (I keep it frozen and grate it as needed)
  • 1 tbsp chile paste or Sambal Oelek
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 cup diced carrots
  • 1/2 cup edemame (I threw it frozen right into the pan)
  • 1 tbsp Liquid Braggs Aminos or Soy Sauce
  • romaine or bib lettuce leaves
  • optional – sprinkle with chopped nuts of choice..I like the chili lime ones at T.J’s

5 thoughts on “warrior one and some asian lettuce wraps

  1. Cut, paste, print. That’s what I just did with this recipe. Thanks. I was just thinking about how I need to find more ideas for a quick, easy and healthy lunch. I’ve been making a lot of veggie quesadillas and lettuce salads with tuna, but have become bored and needed to add something different. Also, thank you for the tip about fresh ginger. I didn’t know you could freeze it and continue to use. I always buy it for certain recipes and then end up throwing it away. Thanks, Amy. I’m hooked on your blog. Keep it comin’!

  2. You had me at recommending yoga after being away for awhile… Me too! Hadn’t practiced since last March due to an injury and went back a few weeks ago. I just can’t/should not live without it. I love lettuce wraps and look forward to making these at home. Thanks Amy!

  3. Love the site, Amy. You are quite the entrepeneur! if I spelled it correctly. Want to try some of the recipes, are they always available? How do you find the time, such a busy lady. Miss you. Aunt Bev

  4. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! The asian lettuce wraps are in my regular rotation, and I can’t wait to try the soup. I have walked the aisles of Trader Joes so many times and had never noticed the frozen herb cubes — life changing:)) Keep the blog entries coming!

Leave a comment