Asian Cranberry Barbeque Sauce

In the spirit of the Holidays, I wanted to use up my bags of fresh cranberries…but I wanted to do this without having to bake something.

So last week I was making dinner for the men in my life and they love it when I make anything Teriyaki or barbecue.  So I thought I would do an asian barbeque….wait for it..wait for it..with fresh cranberries!  Genius, brilliant, superb you are thinking.  I know, I know….I bow for you now.

So I started throwing some of my favorite asian seasonings & spices into a pan with some orange juice and fresh cranberries.  Voila! An Asian Cranberry barbeque Sauce.  I served this one night with Grilled pork chops that I had rubbed with garlic, ginger and cumin.  The next night was served with some grilled shrimp.  And for one last night, our neighbors had us over for some Texas bbq and we used the sauce on the smoked turkey breast.  YUM-O!

So as you can see, there are many ways this can be used for dipping, basting and sauteing.

So add a little cranberry to make this festive recipe.

Asian Cranberry barbeque Sauce:

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Cup fresh cranberries (rinsed and dried)
  • 1 tbp fresh ginger (grated)
  • ½ cup hoisin sauce
  • ½ cup fresh orange juice
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp Chili Paste (for heat)

*DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and simmer on medium heat.
    The cranberries will begin to pop and breakdown.
  2. Continue to stir until cranberries have melted down.  Lower heat to to low and let simmer until the sauce thickens (about 15 minutes).
  3. Serve with grilled chicken or shrimp and stir-fry veggies.

EAT & ENJOY!

*NOTES


















Leave a comment